Leaderistic – Intro

Leaderistic was an idea I had while on terminal leave with the United States Air Force. I was leaving active duty life and had negotiated a new position in the Oregon Air National Guard.

The transition wasn’t easy; the fears and doubts about the new beginning were starting to settle in. Yet, I was confident that I would overcome these fears and grow through the obstacles.

As I continued to enjoy my days off leading up to the next chapter in my life; I was working on a book about my last assignment at Vandenberg, Air Force Base (AFB), CA. I had gone through so many challenges there that I couldn’t help but start writing a book about it. I had reached out to some very close friends and mentors and asked them for Letters of Recommendation, so that I may add them to my resume. Yet, the Oregon Guard never asked for them. As I read over these letters I saw something continue to stand out in almost every letter written on my behalf, “Leadership”.

I finally came to the conclusion that I would take a break from my current book, and focus solely on writing a new book on Leadership. I however, didn’t want this to be some glamours read you’d find on stands in an airport. There is no doubt in my mind that I will never make a New York Times Bestsellers listing, or Best Read listing… That isn’t my goal. The goal was to have a realistic perspective on leadership. I wanted to keep it short; something that people could pick up, read only one or two pages and you’d get my point and the chapter would be over. My goal was to write one chapter per week for the year. This would allow you to have 52 different chapters to work your way through the year and continually try to build upon yourself.

This project wasn’t a book for the civilian work force per-say. It was a book written by a man who spent many years as a Non-Commissioned Officer in the military. Who led many different types of troops, but the main principles of leadership were what kept him going. They were what made him the person he was. It wasn’t until recently that I decided to make this project not a book, but an open blog that anyone and everyone can have access to.

I can promise you that the grammar will not be correct, the spelling will be terrible, but the passion of wanting to help reach and impact others will be there. Thanks for coming along with me on this new journey.

One thought on “Leaderistic – Intro

Leave a comment